Your one-stop for the truth

BREAKING: Senate confirms Dr George Abang Ekpungu as Secretary of EFCC, other board members

The Senate on Tuesday confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees for appointment as Secretary and Board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Those confirmed include George Abang Ekpungu as Secretary from Cross River State; Luqman Muhammed as board member from Edo State; Anumba Adaeze (member – Enugu); Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina (member – Kwara); and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad (member – Yobe).


The confirmation followed the presentation and consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Suleiman Abdu Kwari, in his report, recommended that the nominees be confirmed by the Senate.

Buhari, in a letter dated September 17, 2021, urged the Senate to confirm the candidates as Secretary and board member of the EFCC.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.